New: Brothertiger

New: Brothertiger – Evening Glow {0}

Brothertiger is John Jagos from Athens, Ohio. I’m a big fan of his melodramatic synth-pop and hushed accompanying vocals. The new single, “Evening Glow,” exhibits a higher degree of danceability than his previous work on the superb Tunnel Visions EP — and I have no problem with that. Mr. Jagos’ music has that decisive ability to evoke imagery of sunny far-off destinations; perfect for the cold months ahead. (I’m looking in your direction, Chicago.) Give it a spin below and check out his bandcamp page for more.


Introducing: PANDIT

Introducing: PANDIT {0}

Pandit is Lance Smith from Lumberton, TX. With the right equipment in hand, a locker full of songs, and a strong determination, Pandit released their debut, self-titled EP in January 2010. Since that time, the band has stayed busy, having just recently released a 17 track demo record in December 2010. You can download that for free here.

Pandit’s debut LP, “Eternity Spin,” is slated for release on February 22, 2011. Show some love for Texas and keep an ear out for this great new addition to the indie landscape.

File next to: Dirty Projectors, Sleigh Bells, Grizzly Bear.



indie.mix.38 {0}

Hello 2011, nice to finally meet you. Hope that everyone had a happy holiday! I really couldn’t be more pumped for the year ahead — expecting big things from all the wonderful people in my life, and from the independent music scene.

2011 has the look of a game-changer. Never before have so many people discovered new music through outlets such as The Hype Machine,,, We Are Hunted, exfm,, and, of course, dan’s.indie.mix ;) The foundation for which popular music stood was shattered years ago, but the shift in widespread attention from mainstream to the generic classification of “indie” has evolved slowly. However, with the advent of music blogging in 2010, I saw this scene absolutely explode and expect it to reach new heights over the next 12 months. I’m excited to do my part.

Here’s to the start of an epic 2011…
Much love,


Track List:listen below!
01. Restless People – Don’t Back Down
02. Monarchy – Love Get Out Of My Way
03. Bag Raiders – Sunlight
04. Toro Y Moi – Still Sound
05. Teen Daze – Let’s Fall Asleep Together
06. Deerhunter – Revival
07. Rich Aucoin – Brian Wilson Is Alive
08. Matt & Kim – Good for Great
09. Rollerskaters – Sleep Tight
10. Young Galaxy – Cover Your Tracks
11. Wolf Gang – Lions In Cages
12. Two Door Cinema Club – You’re Not Stubborn
13. Kisses – Midnight Lover
14. Tanlines – Three Trees
15. Dirty Gold – California Sunrise
16. Generationals – Trust
17. Twin Shadow – Slow
18. Trophy Wife – Microlite
19. Body Language – You Can
20. Stornoway – Zorbing

New: Teen Daze

New: Teen Daze – Let’s Fall Asleep Together {0}

Another amazing track from Vancouver chill-waver Teen Daze. I’m a big fan of his electro-pop sound that was featured heavily on debut album Four More Years, but have zero issues with the lo-fi simplicity of his latest work on the new Teen Dreams EP — be sure to grab it as a pay-what-you-want over at his bandcamp page.


New: MillionYoung

New: MillionYoung – Desperate Measures {0}

South Florida’s MillionYoung delivers yet another dream-washed melody on his latest track “Desperate Measures.” The tune kicks off with a staccato guitar-laced intro—reminiscent of numerous tracks from The xx’s self-titled debut album—and slowly scales upward before launching into a massive synth line at 1:54. It’s a worthy payoff for a great winter jam that will keep you cozy through the icy weather ahead. Give it a spin below.


Introducing: TEEN DAZE

Introducing: TEEN DAZE {0}

Decided to wind down a relaxing weekend with the shimmering ambient sounds of Vancouver artist Teen Daze. This picks up where the chillwave/dreampop movement of late 2009 left off. Give it a spin.

File next to: Washed Out, Toro y Moi, Brothertiger, MillionYoung.

Teen Daze – For Paulina

[soundcloud url=""]